Silvia Eiblmayr

47°26’47.70“N 12°23’27.28“E

Werner Kaligofsky takes a systemic look at his home town of Kitzbühel by exploring a series of interwoven phenomena. Kitzbühel, whose GPS co-ordinates provide the title of his work, stands as a paradigm for the global tourism industry and the marketing of the Tyrolean Alps and their lucrative seasonal skiing scene, with all the visitor numbers and overnight stays that entails. As a winter sports resort heavily reliant on snow, the town and its surroundings are locked in a merciless battle with global warming within the logic of the local economy, with the mountain landscape providing the setting in which that battle is waged. In Alfons Walde’s popular winter paintings from the 1930s these mountains are blanketed in thick snow glistening in the sunshine. And yet, in recent years, ten reservoirs and lakes have been built in those very mountains to help produce artificial snow, with serious repercussions, both visible and beneath the ground, on the landscape and the ecosystem. Kaligofsky captured these lakes (one of which is still a building site) with his precise objective lens and then used Photoshop to edit out all local references such as geographical details, tourism logos and logotypes. Here again, he added their corresponding GPS co-ordinates by way of picture titles instead of the names of the lakes, along with data on the capacity of each reservoirs. Another photo depicts ‘snow-farming’, a heap-like mound used for conserving old snow under dazzlingly white sheets of plastic tarpaulin. Not a single living creature is visible in any of the photographs taken in the autumn, enhancing the technological nature of these fabricated topographies, despite some rather contrived looking nature restoration measures.

Kaligofsky has also interspersed additional motifs into his reservoir series. From one of the TV screens in a Salzburg tourist office he photographed two children posing for children’s fashions, an online ad posted by a Brazilian company that markets its products under the label Tyrol; and, by way of an abstract counter-figure as it were, he also used the photograph of a TV screen in a Salzburg hotel that featured the grid-covered user interface of a software program that displays room lettings and restaurant table reservations. As a fourth theme – not least as a reference to the globalised codes of everyday apparel and camera poses – Kaligofsky added a series of portraits he initiated and then had photographed under his instructions by a young Iraqi refugee called Raad al Abbas, depicting the residents and staff at accommodation quarters set up for refugees in a former hotel on the lake of Schwarzsee near Kitzbühel: in each case the names of those portrayed and the country codes of their countries of origin provided the titles for the portraits.

Kaligofsky rightly links his views of the transformed mountain landscape around Kitzbühel with satellite- and internet-based information and communication technologies; after all, to a certain extent, they represent the operating systems of ‘globalisation’ – which includes global refugee movements. His photographs of this bruised and battered Tyrolean landscape1)For instance, the building of the Seidlalm II reservoir alone required the clearing of almost three hectares of land. See excerpt from the water information system of the Federal Province of Tyrol, online: https://portal.tirol.gv.at/wisSrvPublic/wis/wbo_wb_auszug.aspx?TYPE=T&ANL_ID=T20561973R3. are also striking counter-images of the way in which these reservoirs are depicted in tourism advertising, anecdotally embellished with cows and sheep and marketed as ‘idyllic mountain lakes’.2)For example on the website of Kitzbüheler Alpen Marketing GmbH, see www.kitzbueheler-alpen.com/de/kirchberg/sommer/bergseen.html. In some of Kaligofsky’s photographs these lakes look like the naked unblinking eye of a Cyclops. But unlike the mythical giant, he is no longer the violent representative of nature’s menacing forces, merely another casualty left by the wayside.3)The Cyclops in Odilon Redon’s eponymous painting dated c.1914 is depicted desirously gazing at a sleeping naiad. Against this backdrop he seems like an allegory of what lies ahead / or still lay ahead at the time for this mountain landscape. See http://krollermuller.nl/en/odilon-redon-the-cyclops-1.

References   [ + ]

Silvia Eiblmayr is an art historian and curator; lives and works in Vienna.

Silvia Eiblmayr

47°26’47.70“N 12°23’27.28“E

Werner Kaligofsky wirft einen systemischen Blick auf seinen Heimatort Kitzbühel, indem er eine Reihe von miteinander verschränkten Phänomenen thematisiert: Kitzbühel, dessen GPS-Koordinaten den Titel seiner Arbeit bilden, steht paradigmatisch für die globale Tourismusindustrie, für die Vermarktung der Tiroler Alpen und deren lukrativen saisonalen Skizirkus mit entsprechenden Gäste- und Übernachtungszahlen. Als ein Zentrum des Wintersports auf Schnee angewiesen, befinden sich die Stadt und das sie umgebende Gebiet in der Logik dieser Ökonomie in einem gnadenlosen Kampf mit der Klimaerwärmung, zu dessen Austragungsort die Berglandschaft wird. In jenen Bergen, die in Alfons Waldes populären Winterbildern aus den 1930er-Jahren von üppigen, in der Sonne leuchtenden Schneedecken überzogen sind, wurden in den vergangenen Jahren zehn Speicherseen und -teiche zur technischen Schneeerzeugung angelegt, was gravierende sichtbare wie auch unter der Erde verborgene Eingriffe in Landschaft und Ökosystem bedeutete. Kaligofsky hat diese Seen – einen davon noch als Baustelle – mit sachlich präzisem Kameraauge festgehalten und nachträglich mittels Photoshop sämtliche Ortshinweise wie geografische Angaben oder touristische Logos und Schriftzüge entfernt; als Bildtitel setzte er auch hier an Stelle der Namen der Seen ihre jeweiligen GPS-Koordinaten sowie Angaben zu den Volumen dieser Wasserreservoirs. Ein zusätzliches Foto zeigt „Snowfarming“, einen haldenartigen Hügel, unter dessen blendend weißer Plastikplane Altschnee konserviert wird. Auf den im Herbst entstandenen Fotos ist ausnahmslos kein einziges lebendes Wesen zu sehen, was den technischen Charakter dieser fabrizierten Topografien trotz mancher eher bemüht erscheinender Renaturierungsmaßnahmen noch stärker spürbar macht.

In die Serie der Speicherseen interpoliert Kaligofsky zusätzliche Sujets: In einem Salzburger Tourismusbüro fotografierte er auf einem der dortigen Bildschirme zwei für Kindermode posierende Kinder, eine Online-Werbung einer brasilianischen Firma, die ihre Produkte unter der Marke „Tyrol“ verkauft; als gleichsam abstrakte Gegenfigur dient ihm die Aufnahme eines Bildschirms in einem Salzburger Hotel, auf dem die von Rastern überzogene Benutzeroberfläche einer Software zu sehen ist, die die Vermietung eines Zimmers beziehungsweise die Reservierung eines Restauranttischs anzeigt. Als viertes Thema – nicht zuletzt als Referenz auf die globalisierten Codes von Alltagskleidung und Kameraposen – fügt Kaligofsky eine von ihm initiierte und unter seiner Anleitung von einem jungen irakischen Flüchtling namens Raad al Abbas foto- grafierte Porträtserie ein, die Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner und Betreuerinnen und Betreuer einer Flüchtlings unterkunft, eines ehemaligen Hotels am Schwarzsee bei Kitzbühel, zeigt, wobei jeweils die Namen der Abgebildeten und die Ländercodes ihrer Herkunftsländer die Titel für die Porträts bilden.

Zu Recht verknüpft Kaligofsky seine Ansichten der transformierten Berglandschaft von Kitzbühel mit den satellitengestützten Informations- und internetbasierten Kommuni- kationstechnologien, stellen diese doch gewissermaßen die „Betriebssysteme“ der Globalisierung – auch der globalen Fluchtbewegungen – dar. Seine Fotos dieser geschundenen Tiroler Landschaft1)So beanspruchte zum Beispiel allein die Anlage des Speichersees Seidlalm II fast drei Hektar an Rodungsfläche. Vgl. Auszug aus dem Wasserinformationssystem des Landes Tirol, online: https://portal.tirol.gv.at/wisSrvPublic/wis/wbo_wb_auszug.aspx?TYPE=T&ANL_ID=T20561973R3. sind zudem markante Gegenbilder zu den mit Kühen oder Schafen anekdotisch behübschten und als „idyllische Bergseen“ angekündigten Darstellungen der Speicherseen in der Tourismuswerbung.2)So etwa auf der Website der Kitzbüheler Alpen Marketing GmbH ,vgl. www.kitzbueheler-alpen.com/de/kirchberg/sommer/bergseen.html. In manchen von Kaligofskys Aufnahmen wirken diese Seen wie das starre, wimpernlose Auge eines Zyklopen, der jedoch nicht mehr wie im Mythos der gewalttätige Repräsentant der bedrohlichen Kräfte der Natur ist, sondern hier selbst endgültig auf der Strecke geblieben ist.3)Der Zyklop in Odilon Redons gleichnamigen, circa 1914 entstandenen Gemälde, der seinen begehrlichen Blick auf die schlafende „Bergnymphe“ wirft, erscheint vor diesem Hintergrund wie eine Allegorie auf das, was dieser gebirgigen Landschaft noch bevorsteht / damals erst noch bevorstand. Vgl. http://krollermuller.nl/en/odilon-redon-the-cyclops-1.

References   [ + ]

Silvia Eiblmayr ist Kunsthistorikerin und Kuratorin. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Wien.