Jasmin Haselsteiner-Scharner

A Portrait of Ageing

In times of migration and the continual stoking of fears of a supposed ‘foreign infiltration’ there is now a palpable sense that many people feel a strong urge to re-engage more closely with their own roots and their own understanding of what home means to them. This phenomenon has been observable more and more in Austria in recent years, and it often manifests itself in a cultural context, too, over and beyond its improper exploitation in the political realm. Exhibition projects, publications, and scientific discourses address this issue in many different ways. In their works photographers such as Paul Kranzler (Landjugend 2004, Brut 2010) and Gerlinde Miesenböck (Land_sterben 2007–10, Das Erbe 2008–10) have explored the phenomena specific to their homeland (of Upper Austria) by studying their own personal environment.

Exploring one’s own origins and surroundings also plays a key role in the works of 20-year-old photographer Simon Lehner from Upper Austria. In his first monograph entitled Jaga, due to be published by Fotohof edition in spring 2017, he examined the widespread and popular pastime of hunting in Austria as a social and cultural phenomenon. Through his documentary-style photographs he sketched a mood picture featuring hunting rituals that are just as stunning as the dead prey itself or certain peculiar collections of trophies.

In his most recent work Lehner focuses on its immediate family environment.
The photographer grew up in difficult family circumstances, and his grandfather Koal was the most important father figure in his life. In this series Lehner documents his childhood hero, a loving and understanding figure who was always there for him and taught him all the important things in life. The empathetic photographic portrait of this surrogate father is structured around his ritualised daily routine. Ordinary activities are charged with meaning, whether it’s the obligatory walk through the woods, the almost daily car wash, or attending to his grandmother. Even things that might seem strange or bizarre are depicted in meticulous detail to create an overall picture of a pensioner living a carefree rural existence in Upper Austria, without any material worries.

In individual images that amalgamate into more substantial narratives Simon Lehner tells the story of a contemporary social reality and of childhood memories that appear as photos, film projections and video clips, making his close relationship with his grandfather all the more palpable. His photographic method is characterised by a fleet-footed immediacy as he courageously seizes the moment décisif by shaping that instant into a convincing and valid image.

Jasmin Haselsteiner-Scharner studied art history in Graz, Venice and New York and is specialized on photography. At the Landesgalerie Linz she is working as curator and head of the photography collection. Works as lecturer, freelance curator and writer. Various publications on topics of historic and contemporary photography.

Jasmin Haselsteiner-Scharner

Ein Porträt des Alterns

In Zeiten von Migration und der ständig geschürten Angst vor angeblicher „Über- fremdung“ spürt man den massiven Wunsch vieler, sich wieder intensiver mit den eigenen Wurzeln und einem individuellen Verständnis von Heimat auseinanderzusetzen. Dieses Phänomen ist in den letzten Jahren in Österreich verstärkt zu beobachten und manifestiert sich neben seiner missbräuchlichen Instrumentalisierung auf politischem Gebiet häufig auch im kulturellen Kontext. Ausstellungsprojekte, Publikationen und wissenschaftliche Diskurse nähern sich diesem Thema auf vielfältige Weise. Fotografen wie Paul Kranzler (Landjugend 2004, Brut 2010) oder Fotografinnen wie Gerlinde Miesenböck (Land_sterben 2007–10, Das Erbe 2008–10) befassen sich in ihren Arbeiten mit speziellen Phänomenen ihrer (oberösterreichischen) Heimat mittels einer Unter- suchung ihres persönlichen Umfelds.

Die Beschäftigung mit der eigenen Herkunft und Umgebung spielt auch in den Arbeiten des erst 20-jährigen oberösterreichischen Fotografen Simon Lehner eine wesentliche Rolle. In seiner ersten Monografie mit dem Titel Jaga, die im Frühjahr 2017 in der Fotohof edition erscheint, untersucht er die in Österreich weit verbreitete Jagd als soziales und kulturelles Phänomen. Er skizziert anhand dokumentarisch angelegter Fotografien ein Stimmungsbild, das Jagdrituale ebenso eindrücklich zeigt wie das erlegte Beutewild oder manch sonderbare Trophäensammlung.

In der zuletzt entstandenen Arbeit fokussiert Lehner auf sein unmittelbares familiäres Umfeld. Dabei ist für den in schwierigen Familienverhältnissen aufgewachsenen Fotografen der Großvater „Koal“ die zentrale männliche Bezugspersonen. Lehner dokumentiert in dieser Serie den Helden seiner Kindheit, der ihn stets liebe- und verständnisvoll begleitet und ihm wesentliche Dinge des Lebens beigebracht hat. Das einfühlsame fotografische Porträt seines Ersatzvaters ist dessen ritualisiertem Tagesablauf nachempfunden. Gewöhnliche Tätigkeiten wie der obligate Waldspazier- gang, die nahezu tägliche Autowäsche oder das Versorgen der Großmutter werden so mit Bedeutung aufgeladen. Selbst skurrile oder befremdlich erscheinende Dinge werden genau geschildert und fügen sich zu einem Gesamtbild eines materiell sorgenfreien Rentneralltags am Land in Oberösterreich.

Simon Lehner erzählt in seinen sich zu größeren Geschichten formierenden Einzelbildern von einer aktuellen sozialen Wirklichkeit wie auch von Kindheitserinnerungen, die in Form von Fotos, Filmprojektionen und Videoausschnitten aufscheinen und die intensive Beziehung zum Großvater spürbar machen. Seine fotografische Methode zeichnet sich durch eine leichtfüßige Unmittelbarkeit aus, wenn er beherzt den „entscheidenden Moment“ nützt, in dem er den Augenblick zum eindrücklichen gültigen Bild formt.

Jasmin Haselsteiner-Scharner studierte Kunstgeschichte in Graz, Venedig und
New York und ist spezialisiert auf Fotografie. An der Landesgalerie Linz als Kuratorin und Sammlungsleiterin für Fotografie zuständig. Als freie Lektorin, Kuratorin und Autorin tätig. Veröffentlichungen in diversen Publikationen über historische und zeitgenössische Fotografie.