Monika Faber

’Hey, Look What He’s Doing!’

Concerns over one’s media image are now firmly anchored within the political environment. Rightly so, of course. Only totalitarian regimes have control over how photographs are disseminated, how they are channelled into a media network that seems almost infinite, and how they are commented. Even a country as innocuous as Austria now has the jitters: those who feel misunderstood and/or badly treated ‘by the media’ are not in short supply. Which is why you’re not allowed to photograph anything you want from the viewers’ gallery of the Austrian Parliament. Anyone caught peeking over an MP’s shoulder while they play solitaire or shop online on their laptops during parliamentary sessions will be ejected – and rightly so, of course. With the standing of parliamentarians now at an all-time low among the general public, there’s no need to fan the flames even more…

So we need to make it clear that, at all the gatherings she documented, Nora Schoeller had the consent of those in charge when taking her photographs. They were the ones who specified where and when she could be present, even in those instances where the gatherings were scheduled in public spaces. After all, here, in these manageable spaces, everything is under control. The speaker addresses his or her audience, the anchor- person talks into the microphone, a round table debates late into the night, the radiant winner makes his or her appearance, and the election supervisor looks after the ballot box: ‘A very warm welcome…’ The locations change, and the succinct captions tell us we were right about our prejudices. In Parliament the traditional main parties convene in strict tiers of seats; on Vienna’s Yppenmarkt the ‘Aufbruch’ movement debates; in Lower Austria they still wear traditional costume; and the Social Democrats’ district branch is furnished with red upholstered furniture. However there is no telling visually what was under discussion in each case.

Can political beliefs only manifest themselves in images when people take to the streets and, as a result, lose control over their photographic likeness? It is certainly no coincidence that Schoeller chose the May 1 smoke throwers to kick off her series of images. The ever-present slogans at demonstrations – whether on T-shirts, banners, leaflets or giant wall texts – shout out their messages. Unmistakably so, the enthusiasts are probably thinking, yet the unbiased viewer (if there is such a thing) of these images may well wonder what Nazis flambieren [flambé the Nazis] is supposed to mean, or why people usually hold up the red-white-red ribbon with the blue inscription Aus Liebe zur Heimat [Out of love for the homeland] in front of their faces.

But even in a controlled environment, Schoeller has some enlightening things to offer those of us who choose to look closely: sometimes deliberately, sometimes randomly, as she says. She succeeds in making assembly rooms talk. Indeed, not everything appears to have been consciously determined by those convening there. Bruno Kreisky’s portrait or the crucifix as ever-present über-figures in the background seem premeditat- ed – but what’s that green armchair-back doing in the red district office? And are we to deduce from the exclusively young and female staff in the conservative parliamentary group who the real decision-makers in the party actually are? Hey, look what he’s doing! as a small poster behind the apparent chairpersons of a gathering of participants who appear equal only at first glance must serve as a call for us to take a close look and interpret with irony what is being presented to us in images: it is not possible to capture in a photograph, with all the implications, the commotion over the fact that, in the political environment documented by Schoeller in Austria in 2016, a presidential election had to be invalidated for the first time ever; rather, we need to bear it in mind continually as a backdrop to all the photographs.

Monika Faber, born in Vienna in 1954, studied art history and classical archeology in Vienna. From 1979 to 1999 she was a curator at the Museum of Modern Art Ludwig Foundation Vienna. Thereafter she joined the Albertina (Vienna) as chief curator of the photography collection. Since 2011, she is head of Photoinstitut Bonartes in Vienna.

Monika Faber

„Da schau her, was der macht!“

Die Besorgtheit über den medialen Auftritt ist im politischen Umfeld heute fest verankert. Zu Recht natürlich: Die Kontrolle darüber, wie Fotografien verbreitet werden, mit welchen Kommentaren versehen sie in ein fast unbegrenzt erscheinendes Netzwerk von Medien eingespeist werden, lässt sich nur in totalitären Regimen durchsetzen. Selbst im harmlosen Österreich herrscht Nervosität, gerne fühlt man sich falsch ver- standen, schlecht behandelt „von den Medien“. Daher darf man von der Presseloge im Parlament aus nicht alles fotografieren: Wer Abgeordneten über die Schulter schaut, die während der Sitzungen auf ihrem Laptop Karten spielen oder im Netz auf Einkaufs- tour gehen, wird verwiesen – zu Recht natürlich: Die Unlust der Bevölkerung über ihre Vertretung im Hohen Haus ist schon groß genug, man sollte sie nicht noch weiter schüren …

Daher muss klargestellt werden, dass Nora Schoeller bei allen von ihr dokumentierten Versammlungen im Einverständnis mit den jeweiligen Verantwortlichen fotografierte. Sie waren es, die Ort und Zeitraum ihrer Anwesenheit bestimmten, selbst wenn es sich um geplante Zusammenkünfte im öffentlichen Raum handelte. Und genau hier, im überschaubaren Raum, ist ja alles unter Kontrolle: Der Redner adressiert sein Publikum, die Moderatorin spricht ins Mikrofon, eine Tischrunde diskutiert bis tief in die Nacht, der strahlende Sieger hat seinen Auftritt, der Wahlleiter verwaltet die Urne: „Herzlich Willkommen“ … Die Orte wechseln und die knappen Bildtitel verraten uns, dass wir mit unseren Vorurteilen richtig lagen: Im Parlament tagen die historischen Großparteien in strengen Sitzreihen, am Yppenmarkt diskutiert der „Aufbruch“, in Niederösterreich trägt man noch Tracht, die Bezirkssektion der Sozialdemokraten ist mit roten Polster- möbeln eingerichtet. Die jeweils verhandelten Anliegen allerdings erschließen sich visuell kaum.

Können sich Überzeugungen im Bild nur dann manifestieren, wenn Menschen auf die Straße gehen und damit die Kontrolle über ihr fotografisches Konterfei verlieren? Die Nebelwerferinnen am Ersten Mai hat Schoeller wohl nicht zufällig als Auftakt für ihre Bildstrecke gewählt. Die stets präsenten Sprüche bei den Demonstrationen – ob auf T-Shirts, Transparenten, kleinen Zetteln oder riesigen Wandtexten – schreien ihre Botschaften heraus. Unmissverständlich, denken sich die Begeisterten wahrscheinlich, doch unbefangene BildbetrachterInnen und -betrachter (gibt es so etwas denn überhaupt?) müssen sich wohl fragen, was „Nazis flambieren“ bedeuten soll, oder warum das rot-weiß-rote Band mit der blauen Aufschrift „Aus Liebe zur Heimat“ bevorzugt vors Gesicht gehalten wird.

Schoeller hat allerdings – teils gezielt, teils unwillkürlich, wie sie sagt – den genau Schauenden auch im kontrollierten Gelände einiges Erhellendes zu bieten, hat Versammlungsräume zum Sprechen gebracht. Nicht alles scheint von den dort Tagenden tatsächlich bewusst bestimmt zu werden: Bruno Kreiskys Porträt oder das Kruzifix als im Hintergrund stets präsente Überfiguren wirken geplant, aber was macht der grüne Sesselrücken im roten Bezirkslokal? Und sollen wir aus dem ausschließlich weiblich- jugendlichen Personal im schwarzen Parlamentsklub auf die wahren Entscheidungsträger in der Partei schließen? „Da schau her, was der macht“ als kleines Plakat hinter den Vorsitzenden einer Runde wohl nur auf den ersten Blick gleichberechtigter Teilnehmer und Teilnehmerinnen muss uns als Aufruf dienen, genau hinzusehen und mit Ironie zu interpretieren, was uns in Bildern dargeboten wird – die Aufregung darüber, dass in dem von Schoeller dokumentierten politischen Umfeld in Österreich 2016 erstmals eine Bundespräsidentenwahl annulliert wurde, lässt sich mit allen Implikationen nicht fotografieren, sondern muss als Hintergrund aller Bilder stets mitgedacht werden.

Monika Faber, geboren 1954 in Wien, studierte Kunstgeschichte und Klassische Archäologie in Wien. Bis 1999 war sie Kuratorin im Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien, danach Chefkuratorin der Fotosammlung in der Albertina, Wien. Seit 2011 leitet sie das Photoinstitut Bonartes, Wien.