Walter Seidl

Manfred Willmann – Work and Recollection

Work and Recollection by Manfred Willmann focuses on everyday situations taken from the artist’s personal surroundings, exploring the need for manual skills in everyday working life and the way in which his protagonists are integrated into social realities. The photographs taken in the Austrian province of Styria consist of extended portraits that showcase the sphere of activity of these protagonists and its specifics in all its details and significance. They illustrate the history of traditional working methods which, increasingly, are giving way to digital and machine-controlled processes and losing their public profile as a result.

Willmann portrays the working and living environment of his tailor, his car mechanic, the watchmaker, and the simultaneous operator of a cinema, butcher’s shop and restaurant, as well as his grandfather with his passion for basket weaving. And while not all the protagonists enter the field of view directly, all the professions portrayed are linked to notions of work as evidence of craftsmanship that demands a particular dedication on the part of those involved. Willmann remembers a generation who engaged in a multitude of activities such as these, activities which very few people today still master. Willmann’s work is characterised by focusing on identity-defining details which, as a narrative strand, are in keeping with the principles of auteur photography.

Willmann’s car mechanic for instance is portrayed within the standard heteronormative context of his profession, complete with pin-up posters on the walls. But at the same time, the mechanic’s artistic aspirations are highlighted as he creates sculptures from bits of leftover metal, to be used as ashtrays. The meticulously precise work of Willmann’s tailor is documented by the countless darts and detailed seams sewn on a jacket, all of which are necessary to achieve an exact outline and fit. At the same time he also depicts the painstakingly tidy setting in which the tailor has gone about his work until very recently, a setting unchanged since 1958. The watchmaker, too, devotes himself with the utmost accuracy to the precision engineering of his timepieces.

The images of countless baskets woven by Willmann’s grandfather are contrasted with a photograph that shows a ‘historical’ picture of the artist in the form of a childhood photo. Next to this ‘picture within a picture’ is a head shaped out of plasticine, a likeness of Willmann’s grandfather, now deceased, that he made as a pupil, its image taking the place of the portrait of the protagonist in the other series.

The photographs document a time as a moment of recollection when work meant the ability to identify with a craft and industrial manufacturing processes were not yet the order of the day. Within this circle of acquaintances that Willmann portrays, he succeeds in retracing a lifestyle in which a notion of work passed down through the generations is expressed in both a rural and an urban setting.

Walter Seidl, born in Graz in 1973. He has curated numerous exhibition projects in Europe, the US and Japan, and contributed essays for artist’s monographs and international magazines, including Camera Austria, springerin and Život umjetnosti. He is a curator, author, and artist, and lives in Vienna.

Walter Seidl

Manfred Willmann – Arbeit und Erinnerung

Arbeit und Erinnerung von Manfred Willmann fokussiert alltägliche Situationen aus dem persönlichen Umfeld des Künstlers und untersucht dabei das Erfordernis von Handfertigkeit im Arbeitsalltag sowie die Eingliederung der involvierten Personen in gesellschaftliche Wirklichkeiten. Bei den in der Steiermark entstandenen Aufnahmen handelt es sich um erweiterte Porträts, die das Aktionsfeld der Protagonisten und dessen Spezifika in ihrer Detailhaftigkeit und Bedeutung hervorheben. Sie zeigen so die Geschichte tradierter Arbeitsweisen auf, die zunehmend digitalen, maschinell gesteuerten Prozessen weichen und an öffentlicher Sichtbarkeit verlieren.

Willmann porträtiert die Arbeits- und Lebenswelt seines Schneiders, seines Automecha- nikers, des Uhrmachers und des gleichzeitigen Betreibers eines Kinos, einer Fleischerei und einer Gastwirtschaft sowie seinen Großvater als leidenschaftlichen Korbflechter. Obwohl nicht alle Personen direkt ins Blickfeld treten, sind alle porträtierten Berufe an Vorstellungen von Arbeit als Zeugnis handwerklicher Tätigkeit geknüpft, die von den Akteurinnen und Akteuren eine besondere Hingabe verlangt. Willmann erinnert damit an eine Generation, die einer Vielzahl solcher Aktivitäten nachging, die heute nur mehr wenige beherrschen. Kennzeichnend für Willmanns Arbeit ist der Blick auf identitäts- stiftende Details, die als Narrationskette den Gesetzen der Autorenfotografie folgen.

Willmanns Automechaniker etwa wird in dem für seine Berufsgruppe üblichen hetero- normativen Kontext mit Pin-up-Postern an den Wänden präsentiert, gleichzeitig aber werden seine künstlerischen Aspirationen hervorgehoben, die ihn aus Metallresten Skulpturen zur Verwendung als Aschenbecher fertigen lassen. Die minutiöse Tätigkeit des Schneiders dokumentieren die zahlreichen Abnäher und Detailnähte an einem Sakko, die notwendig sind, um eine genaue Konturiertheit und Passform zu erzielen. Gleichzeitig wird das seit 1958 unveränderte und penibel gepflegte Ambiente gezeigt, in dem dieser bis vor Kurzem seiner Tätigkeit nachging. Auch der Uhrmacher widmet sich der Feinmechanik der Zeitmesser mit großer Präzision.

Die Aufnahmen zahlreicher Körbe, die Willmanns Großvater anfertigte, werden einer Fotografie gegenübergestellt, die ein „historisches“ Bild des Künstlers in Form eines Kinderfotos zeigt. Neben diesem „Bild im Bild“ liegt ein aus Plastilin geformter Kopf – ein von Willmann als Schüler angefertigtes Porträt seines mittlerweile verstorbenen Großvaters –, dessen Abbildung an Stelle des Porträts des Protagonisten in den anderen Serien steht.

Die Fotografien dokumentieren eine Zeit als Moment der Erinnerung, da Arbeit die Identifikation mit einem Handwerk ermöglichte und industrielle Fertigungsprozesse noch nicht an der Tagesordnung waren. Willmann gelingt es, in dem von ihm porträtierten Personenkreis aus seinem eigenen Umfeld einer Lebenshaltung nachzuspüren, in der sich eine über Generationen tradierte Vorstellung von Arbeit im ländlichen wie urbanen Raum artikuliert.

Walter Seidl, geboren 1973 in Graz. Er kuratierte zahlreiche Ausstellungsprojekte in Europa, den USA und in Japan und verfasste Beiträge für KünstlerInnenmonografien und internationale Zeitschriften, darunter Camera Austria, springerin und Život umjetnosti. Lebt als Kurator, Autor und Künstler in Wien.