Gabriele Hofer-Hagenauer

Bodies of Work

In terms of physics, work equals force times distance, and power is defined as
work per unit time. Two months is the unit of time that elapsed between the two photographs of a ship’s hull that also represent a starting point and a finishing point for Katharina Gruzei’s photo series entitled Bodies of Work. The work performed both industrially and manually lies between the pictures, made perceivable to the senses through the visible changes in the workpiece.

For all the high-tech production processes involved, there is still ‘proper’ work being done at the Linz shipyard1)Österreichische Schiffswerft AG (ÖSWAG) was founded by Ignaz Maier in 1840 and looks back at an eventful history lasting more than 170 years; today, it is the last Danube shipyard of its kind in Austria. Besides renovation and repair work it still builds new passenger ships and river ships for inland waterways and rivers. ÖSWAG consists of the shipyard proper and a mechanical engineering firm. where the series was created. Hard physical labour, dirt, dust, sweat, shavings and filings: here the clinically meticulous world of full computer- controlled automation has not yet taken over completely, an aspect that was of significance to the artist from the moment she began working on her concept. The title deliberately alludes to two different levels of meaning. Bodies of Work is to be understood not just in the sense of a complex of works, a body of work, a workpiece, but also as a ‘working body’: It is about the human body (in this instance exclusively male) that performs the work, embedded in an industrial environment. Gruzei’s focus is trained not just on the classic relationship between man and machine. She depicts actual work situations, often melding the human body with the mechanical, apparatus- based body to evoke hybrid beings, cyborgs, and astronauts. Gruzei’s sensitive image concept is not aimed at glorifying industrial technology or hero-worshipping the working body. Kitted out in protective working gear designed to ensure their safety, these ‘working bodies’ seem strangely fragile, at times even insecure, almost lost among these oversized machine parts.

A river cruiser pulled ashore for repairs seems to fade into the autumn mist like a phantom ship, mirrored only in the gently lapping waters of the Danube. In the photographs that opens the photo series, that same ship appears utterly radiant, like a shimmer of hope, contrasting with the darkness of the shipyard workshop that provides the architecture framework. The workshop, built in the 1970s as shipbuilding flourished, seems porous and brittle: a symbol of the changing industrial work environment and its socio-cultural and socio-political aspects.

References   [ + ]

Gabriele Hofer-Hagenauer is the director oft the collection for photography and curator for modern and contemporary art at the Landesgalerie Linz at the Oberösterreichisches Landesmuseum.

Gabriele Hofer-Hagenauer

Katharina Gruzei – Bodies of Work

Arbeit ist Kraft mal Weg, physikalisch gesehen, und Leistung wird definiert als Arbeit pro Zeiteinheit. Zwei Monate liegen zwischen den beiden Aufnahmen eines Schiffs- rumpfes, die für Katharina Gruzeis Fotoserie Bodies of Work gleichsam einen Anfangs- und Endpunkt darstellen. Die geleistete Arbeit, industriell wie handwerklich, liegt zwischen den Bildern, sinnlich erfahrbar gemacht durch die sichtbaren Veränderungen am Werkstück.

In der Linzer Schiffswerft1)Die Österreichische Schiffswerft AG (ÖSWAG), 1840 von Ignaz Maier gegründet, blickt auf eine wechselvolle, mehr als 170-jährige Geschichte zurück und ist heute die letzte Donauwerft in Österreich. Neben Umbau- und Reparaturarbeiten werden noch Neubauten von Binnensee-Fahrgastschiffen und Flussschiffen realisiert. Die ÖSWAG gliedert sich in die Werft und eine Firma für Maschinenbau., wo die Serie entstanden ist, wird trotz hochtechnologisierter Fertigungsabläufe noch „richtig“ gearbeitet. Körpereinsatz, Schmutz, Staub, Schweiß, Späne: Hier hat die klinisch rein erscheinende, computergesteuerte Vollautomation noch nicht vollends Einzug gehalten; ein Aspekt, der für die Künstlerin von Beginn ihrer Werkkonzeption an von Bedeutung war. Bewusst wird im Titel auf zwei verschiedene Bedeutungsebenen angespielt: Bodies of Work will sich nicht nur im Sinne von Werk- komplex, Werkkorpus, Werkstück verstanden wissen, sondern auch als „Arbeitskörper“: Der menschliche – in diesem Fall ausschließlich männliche – Körper, der Arbeit verrichtet, eingebettet in ein industrielles Umfeld. Gruzeis Blick richtet sich dabei nicht nur auf die klassische (Größen-)Relation Mensch-Maschine. Sie rückt konkrete Arbeitssituationen ins Bild, lässt den menschlichen aber vielfach mit dem maschinellen, apparativen Körper verschmelzen, was an hybride Wesen, Cyborgs oder Astronauten erinnert. Gruzeis sensible Bildkonzeption lässt weder eine Verherrlichung der industriellen Technik, noch eine Heroisierung des arbeitenden Körpers zu. Ausgerüstet mit Arbeitsequipment, das der Sicherheit dient, wirken die arbeitenden Körper seltsam fragil, manchmal auch haltlos, zwischen überdimensionalen Maschinenteilen fast verloren.

Einem Geisterschiff gleich, verliert sich ein Flusskreuzer – für Reparaturarbeiten an Land gezogen – im herbstlichen Nebel, gespiegelt auf der sanft bewegten Wasserober- fläche der Donau. Geradezu strahlend, wie ein Hoffnungsschimmer, erscheint dieses Schiff im Eingangsbild der Fotostrecke, kontrastiert mit dem Dunkel der Werkshalle, die als architektonischer Rahmen fungiert. Die Halle, in den 1970er-Jahren errichtet, als der Schiffsbau noch florierte, wirkt porös und brüchig: ein Sinnbild der sich wandelnden industriellen Arbeitswelt und ihrer soziokulturellen wie gesellschaftspolitischen Aspekte.

References   [ + ]

Gabriele Hofer-Hagenauer ist Sammlungsleiterin für Fotografie und Kuratorin für moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst in der Landesgalerie Linz am Oberöster- reichischen Landesmuseum.