Reinhard Braun

Katarina Šoškić – Home No Home

Photography has always linked the private with the public, inscribed the private in the public, and vice versa. Through photographic images we’re therefore always negotiating the internal with the external, our own selves in relation to the Other, introducing descriptions and differentiations. And one of the most important differentiations in our age of crisis and conflict, of flight and of border demarcations, is undoubtedly the one that is defined through a sense of belonging, whether it’s to a particular cultural space, a religion or a value system.

Katarina Šoškić came to Vienna in 2007 to study at the University of Applied Arts.
She lived in different places, with various friends, and graduated in 2013. Then, for three years, she lived the peripatetic life of an artist in the post-Fordist knowledge society, dislocated yet consistently integrated in various networks at the same time. She returned to Vienna in 2016 to begin working on her PhD. Once again she visited the places she had lived in, the places that had once been her home, albeit temporarily. It’s an excerpt from a biography in motion, both privileged and precarious; the biography of recurrent leave-taking and re-visiting, given that all these apartments has long since been taken over by others and re-inscribed with the biographies of others – the story of a perpetual state of ‘non-home’?

Indeed, Home No Home is the title of the book in which she has structured the photographs of this biographical – not to say migrant – return. A book that remains personal, fragmentary and excerpt-like, just as the photographs remain largely excerpt- like. They offer no overview; what they depict cannot be attributed to any particular location: façade elements, windows, views of inner courtyards as typical as they are unspecific, unmade beds, tights carelessly discarded next to a table lamp on the floor, a magazine, a water glass on the coffee table in front of a sofa used for an overnight stay, a wrapped-up photograph. Nothing in these images points to a sense of permanence in living conditions; one temporary state appears to have replaced another temporary state; the non-home is followed by no home. The photographs look as if they were taken in passing, and yet they attest to a precision in representing the provisional, the ephemeral and the incidental – an order of images that is neither complete nor does it assert or claim to assert a truth, a questioning of fragile and volatile realities.

With Home No Home Katarina Šoškić ventures along an insecure boundary of the photographic along which she could slip from the concrete into the typical. And yet her photographs retain an openness for what lies beyond them, for what might also be visible. Thus they remain connected to the provisional and diverse nature of perspectives increasingly at risk of disappearing behind the images of one’s own self. And so, beneath the fragmentary surface of Home No Home characterised by its blank spaces, other images may well lie hidden, images which may be visible but remain conceivable and perceivable as a possibility.

Reinhard Braun, born 1964 in Linz; studied art history at the Karl Franzens University, Graz; lives and works in Graz. 2007 to 2010 curator for visual arts at the festival steirischer herbst. Since 2011 artistic director of Camera Austria and publisher of the magazine Camera Austria International. Current curatorial projects for Camera Austria: “Disputed Landscape” (2015), “What Was Documentary Is Now Something Else” (2015), “Shirana Shahbazi: Group Show”, “Markus Krottendorfer: At New Moon Tomorrow” and “Stephanie Kiwitt: Dialogues” (all 2016).

Reinhard Braun

Katarina Šoškić – Home No Home

Fotografie hat schon immer das Private und das Öffentliche verknüpft, das Private dem Öffentlichen eingeschrieben und umgekehrt. Über fotografische Bilder verhandeln wir also immer auch ein Innen und Außen, ein Eigenes gegenüber einem Anderen, führen Beschreibungen und Unterscheidungen ein. Eine der wichtigsten Unterscheidungen in dieser unserer Zeit der Krisen und Konflikte, der Flucht und der Grenzziehungen ist sicherlich jene, die sich über Zugehörigkeiten definiert, zu bestimmten Kulturräumen, Religionen und Wertesystemen.

Katarina Šoškić kam 2007 nach Wien, um an der Universität für angewandte Kunst zu studieren, wohnte an verschiedenen Orten, bei verschiedenen Freunden, machte 2013 ihren Abschluss und führte drei Jahre lang das vagabundierende Leben einer Künstlerin der postfordistischen Wissensgesellschaft, zugleich ortlos und beständig in Netzwerke eingebunden. 2016 kehrt sie nach Wien zurück, um hier ein Doktoratsstudium zu beginnen. Sie besuchte erneut jene Orte, die sie bewohnte, die einmal ihr – allerdings nur vorübergehendes – Zuhause gewesen waren. Der Ausschnitt einer Biografie in Bewegung, zugleich privilegiert und prekär, die Biografie eines wiederkehrenden Zurücklassens und Wieder-Aufsuchens, sind doch die Wohnungen längst von anderen bewohnt und von anderen Biografien umgeschrieben – die Geschichte eines fortwährenden Un-Zuhauses?

Home No Home lautet denn auch der Titel des Buchs, in dem sie die Fotografien dieser biografischen, um nicht zu sagen migrantischen Rückkehr organisiert. Ein Buch, der persönlich, fragmentarisch und ausschnitthaft bleibt, wie auch die Bilder großteils ausschnitthaft bleiben. Sie bieten keinen Überblick, was sie zeigen, kann keinem bestimmten Ort zugeordnet werden: Fassadenelemente, Fenster, Ausblicke in Innen- höfe, so typisch wie unbestimmt, ungemachte Betten, achtlos neben einer Tischlampe auf dem Boden verstreute Strümpfe, eine Zeitschrift, ein Wasserglas auf dem Biertisch vor einem Sofa, das zum Übernachten genutzt wurde, ein verpacktes Bild. Nichts in diesen Bildern deutet auf Dauerhaftigkeit von Lebensbedingungen, ein Vorüber- gehendes scheint ein anderes Vorübergehendes abgelöst zu haben, dem Un-Zuhause folgt kein Zuhause. Die Bilder scheinen wie im Vorbeigehen aufgenommen. Doch zeugen sie von einer Genauigkeit im Repräsentieren des Provisorischen, Flüchtigen und Beiläufigen – eine Ordnung der Bilder, die weder vollständig ist noch eine Wahrheit behauptet oder beansprucht, eine Befragung fragiler und flüchtiger Wirklichkeiten.

Katarina Šoškić bewegt sich mit Home No Home an einer unsicheren Grenze des Fotografischen, an der sie vom Konkreten ins Typische verrutschen könnte. Doch behalten ihre Bilder eine Offenheit für das, was außerhalb von ihnen liegt, für das, was es ebenso zu sehen gäbe. Dadurch bleiben sie einer Vorläufigkeit und Vielfältigkeit von Sichtweisen verbunden, die immer mehr hinter den Bildern des Eigenen zu verschwinden drohen. Unter der fragmentarischen und von Leerstellen gekennzeichneten Oberfläche von Home No Home könnten sich somit auch andere Bilder verbergen, die zwar nicht zu sehen sind, die aber als Möglichkeit denkbar und erahnbar bleiben.

Reinhard Braun, geboren 1964 in Linz; Studium der Kunstgeschichte an der Karl Franzens-Universität, Graz; lebt und arbeitet in Graz. 2007 bis 2010 Kurator für bildende Kunst des Festivals steirischer herbst. Seit 2011 künstlerischer Leiter von Camera Austria und Herausgeber der Zeitschrift Camera Austria International. Zu den aktuellsten kuratorischen Projekten für Camera Austria zählen: „Disputed Landscape“ (2015), „What Was Documentary Is Now Something Else“ (2015), „Shirana Shahbazi: Group Show“, „Markus Krottendorfer: At New Moon Tomorrow“ und „Stephanie Kiwitt: Dialogues“ (alle 2016).