Verena Kaspar-Eisert

Jan Schiefermair: Home Sweet Hole

Two young men are sitting, lying in a street, one with a beer in his hand; it is dark, and no doubt late at night. There is a third person there, but all we see are their legs projecting into the picture from the bottom right, and a skateboard, upside down. Somehow the night has peaked, but going home is not an option. Presumably, walking might also be a tad tricky right now. Who wants to leave anyway?

The young Viennese photographer Jan Schiefermair offers us an insight into his social environment, showing us his circle of friends, his family, his home, himself. With his series entitled homesweethole Schiefermair has created a scene portrait from a very personal viewpoint. He does so as part of a photographic tradition that has shaped protagonists such as Larry Clark and Nan Goldin. He is part of that; he is part of a Viennese subculture that consists of a large circle of friends in which skateboarding plays an important role – perhaps more so in the past than it does today. There is a great deal of empathy to Schiefermair’s gaze (his preference is for analogue photog- raphy, in both black-and-white and colour). These are people aged around thirty who have been partying, drinking, doing drugs, skateboarding and living together for many years – defying conventions together. Skateboarding also defines itself as ideology here; it’s a matter of redefining predefined structures (such as the urban architecture) for oneself, of not subordinating oneself. Fear and pain are not categories. Obstacles become opportunities for taking off. It’s all about freedom.

In just a few weeks a couple of friends managed to build a temporary stake park on a disused motorway slip road, taking turns to work in DIY shifts (without official approval, naturally). With its lack of aesthetic self-consciousness the compilation of black-and-white photographs Schiefermair uses to document the project conveys the spirit of this collective endeavour.

But besides these tales of parties and adventures the series of photographs Schiefermair took during 2016 also tells the story of trust, first and foremost, but also of a sense of community, and love. The photographer deliberately showcases images like the one of an intoxicated friend lying on the ground, with naked torso, arms stretched out wide in front of him (the fallen angel), in a diptych with the photograph of a couple lying in a meadow with their toddler, demonstrating their young domestic bliss in a way that is almost kitschy. With homesweethole Schiefermair Schiefermair seeks to counter that apparent contradiction and depict the breadth and diversity of his life’s reality. The anti- hierarchical attitude within the community is apparent also in the acceptance of the changing realities of life within the group – and that is freedom.

Verena Kaspar-Eisert, born in 1981, studied art history in Vienna. Since 2014 she has been the curator at the Kunsthaus Wien.

Verena Kaspar-Eisert

Jan Schiefermair: Home Sweet Hole

Zwei junge Männer sitzen, liegen auf einer Straße, einer ein Bier in der Hand, es ist dunkel, wohl spät in der Nacht. Eine dritte Person ist da, von der nur die Beine von unten rechts ins Bild hineinragen, und ein Skateboard liegt da – upside down. Irgendwie ist die Nacht schon vorbei, aber nach Hause gehen ist keine Option. Vermutlich ist gehen gerade auch eher schwierig. Und wer will schon weg?

Der junge Wiener Fotograf Jan Schiefermair gewährt Einblick in sein soziales Umfeld, zeigt seinen Freundeskreis, seine Familie, seinen Lebensraum, sich selbst. Mit der Serie homesweethole gelingt Schiefermair ein Szeneporträt aus sehr persönlicher Sicht. Damit reiht er sich in eine fotografische Tradition ein, die Protagonistinnen und Protagonisten wie Larry Clark oder Nan Goldin geprägt haben. Er gehört dazu, ist Teil einer Wiener Subkultur, die sich aus einem großen Freundeskreis bildet, in dem das Skateboardfahren – früher mehr, heute weniger – eine wichtige Rolle einnimmt. Schiefermairs Blick (er fotografiert analog, sowohl in Schwarz-Weiß als auch in Farbe) zeugt von großer Empathie. Es sind Leute um die Dreißig, die seit vielen Jahren zusammen feiern, trinken, Drogen nehmen, skaten, leben – gemeinsam Konventionen trotzen. Skateboardfahren definiert sich hier auch als Ideologie, es geht darum, vorgegebene Strukturen (wie beispielsweise die urbane Architektur) für sich neu zu definieren, sich nicht unterzuordnen. Angst und Schmerz sind keine Kategorien. Hindernisse werden Möglichkeiten zum Abheben. Es geht um Freiheit.

Einen temporären Skatepark haben ein paar Freunde im Do-it-yourself-Verfahren auf einer stillgelegten Autobahnauffahrt (natürlich ohne Genehmigung) innerhalb weniger Wochen im Schichtbetrieb gebaut. Eine Zusammenstellung von Schwarz-Weiß- Fotografien, mit denen Schiefermair das Projekt dokumentiert, vermittelt in ihrer ästhetischen Unbefangenheit den Geist dieses kollektiven Unterfangens.

Die vorliegende Bilderstrecke, die Schiefermair im Laufe des Jahres 2016 fotografiert hat, erzählt aber neben den Geschichten von Partys und Abenteuern vor allem auch von Vertrauen, von Gemeinschaft und von Liebe. Ganz bewusst bringt der Fotograf Bilder wie etwa das eines berauschten Freundes, der mit nacktem Oberkörper am Boden liegt, die Arme weit von sich gestreckt (der gefallene Engel) in ein Diptychon mit der Fotografie eines Paares, das mit seinem Kleinkind in der Wiese liegt und fast kitschig das junge Familienglück demonstriert. Diesem scheinbaren Gegensatz will Schiefermair mit homesweethole entgegenwirken und die Bandbreite und Vielfalt seiner Lebensrealität abbilden. Die antihierarchische Grundhaltung innerhalb dieser Gemein- schaft zeigt sich auch in der Akzeptanz sich verändernder Lebensrealitäten innerhalb der Gruppe – und das ist Freiheit.

Verena Kaspar-Eisert, geboren 1981, studierte Kunstgeschichte in Wien. Seit 2014 ist sie Kuratorin im Kunsthaus Wien