Gerald Matt

Paul Albert Leitner’s Journey to Tyrol or Tyrol: Reality Check or On the Remoteness of the Near

Baudrillard sees the miracle of the photograph radically in the fact that it shows the world to be non-objective1)‘The miracle of the photograph, of that allegedly objective image, is that through it the world shows itself to be radically non-objective.’ Jean Baudrillard, Impossible Exchange, London: Verso 2001, p. 139. – an assumption that essentially characterises Paul Albert Leitner’s approach to photography. His world views are only apparently realistic, or documentary in nature; his gaze goes deeper; it gets to the bottom of things; it knows no contradiction between analytical and poetic, real and surreal; it’s on the trail of what lies behind the visible; it’s ironic, melancholy, joyful and tragic, narrative and laconic, witty and sad, surprising and at times banal, just like life itself.

And so there is no contradiction, for me, between collages in which he accumulates found objects into a new reality, his own reality, and the images of individual objects, items of everyday life which, as in his photographs of Tyrol, transform a clunky wooden chair into an icon of the Alpine. Because ultimately Leitner’s images are formed in the mind before they become reality. And so when Leitner embarks on a photographic journey to Tyrol, it seems he is ‘driving his homeland home’ as it were.

Under his gaze, what is close to us becomes strange and unfamiliar, and the familiar remote; what seems real becomes unreal, and what appears unreal is transformed into reality. He shows us ‘his Tyrolean world’ in its – as he sees it – absurd structure, fascinating images of a comprehensive Leitneresque theatrum mundi. We have the photograph of a shabby, faded boundary demarcation for the Brenner border crossing that was once mythically charged and is (now once again) politically explosive; we have the absurd landscapes of fences slicing through the countryside, sealing off the private from a now estranged world perceived as dangerous; we have Leitner’s vistas taken from hotel rooms onto a landscape that seems to outdo its own clichés; we have the rusting wrecks of American road cruisers heralding the end of the American dream – reflections one and all of his obsessive and surreal view of the world, visual sketches, fragments, imaginings from the travel journal of a possessed image-maker, armed with which he finds himself tracking down the transformations of the world and his own self. What better way to depict the irony and madness of everyday life.

When he portrays two Muslims in front of the church in Telfs, the woman in a headscarf, the man pushing a stroller, it’s as if he is paraphrasing well-known Tyrolean tropes by Alfons Walde. At first glance it’s as if we are in a Bosnian village somewhere. At a B&B in Galtür it’s a sugar shaker on a table that has caught his eye. Leitner’s references to American photographers such as William Eggleston and Stephen Shore are clear.

At Hotel Berghof in Seefeld, a landmark of alpine Bauhaus architecture, the traveller’s gaze appears to linger on the elegant interior before returning to the world outside, beyond the panoramic window; no look back in anger, but one filled with empathy. The Tyrolean photographs combine into an oeuvre of astounding and ever expanding diversity. As exuberant and unfathomable as it may now be, with a profusion over which Leitner seeks in vain to gain control through systematic classifications, groupings and themes, his work is nonetheless borne by a consistent artistic approach, a way of working and thinking which he himself has expressed in a number of phrases. It is certainly worth quoting and interpreting some of Leitner’s key programmatic comments here. First and foremost, a core statement by Leitner on the pace at which he works and lives his life, specifically: ‘The best pace for a photographer is walking pace.’ Indeed, Leitner is the flâneur among photographers; any haste is alien to him; he lets himself drift as he sets off in search of motifs. In Tyrol he covered 671 km in a hired car to do his on-site ‘photo rounds’, as he calls them. Leitner ‘be-strides’ his world, hours and days at a time, wherever he happens to be. His work method is based on slowness and exactness. For someone hot on the heels of the serendipitous, he takes his time. He once quoted Hartmut Böhme in an interview: ‘The flâneur does not pick the fastest route from A to B; he much prefers the odysseys of pure chance.’2)Hartmut Böhme, Schildkröten spazieren führen, in: Neue Zürcher Zeitung, May 19th, 2007, online: http://www.nzz.ch/articleF2LNV-1.361104. Of course, it goes without saying that commercial constraints, commissions, purposes, and schedules are completely alien to him, just as he has no interest whatsoever in the swiftness and arbitrariness of digital photography. With his belief in the uniqueness of an image, his world has remained analogue to this day. He makes his decisions before and during the photograph; he selects his images meticulously while photographing, not afterwards. What’s crucial is the right moment, the right motif at the right time. On his field trips Leitner is always on the lookout, his timing’s right; indeed, another one of Leitner’s core statements is that ‘what comes after is not like what came before’.

For Leitner, to take a photograph is to ‘take an attitude’. With Leitner, that also means having an attitude, a stance. Leitner also says, ‘it’s all much of a muchness with me’. His world is a dazzling kaleidoscope bursting with sensations and inspirations; he loves quotations, objects, images in often surprising and ironic contexts; he wants to combine them, fuse them into a harmonious and cohesive cosmos; for Leitner, art and life are as one, and if life does go on, then it does so in his images.

References   [ + ]

Gerald Matt, born in 1958 in Hard, Vorarlberg, works as a freelance curator and cultural manager.

Gerald Matt

Paul Albert Leitners Reise nach Tirol oder Tyrol: Reality Check oder Über die Ferne der Nähe

Baudrillard sieht das Wunder der Fotografie radikal darin, dass sie eine nicht objektive Welt enthüllt1)Das Wunder des Photos, dieses sogenannt ‚objektiven Bildes‘, besteht darin, daß sich die Welt durch es als vollkommen nicht-objektiv erweist.“ Jean Baudrillard, Der unmögliche Tausch, Berlin: Merve 2000, S. 189. – eine Annahme, die Paul Albert Leitners fotografische Haltung wesent- lich charakterisiert. Seine Weltsichten sind nur scheinbar realistisch, dokumentarisch, sein Blick geht tiefer, den Dingen auf den Grund, kennt keinen Gegensatz zwischen analytisch und poetisch, real und surreal, ist dem auf der Spur, was hinter dem Sicht- baren liegt, ist ironisch, melancholisch, fröhlich und tragisch, erzählerisch und lakonisch, witzig und traurig, überraschend und bisweilen banal, wie das Leben selbst.

Und so gibt es für mich auch keinen Gegensatz zwischen Collagen, in denen er Fund- stücke zu einer neuen, zu seiner Wirklichkeit anhäuft, und jenen Bildern einzelner Objekte, Gegenständen des Alltags, die, wie in seinen Tirolbildern, einen klobigen Holzstuhl zur Ikone des Alpenländischen machen. Denn letztlich entstehen Leitners Bilder im Kopf, bevor sie wirklich werden. Und wenn Leitner nun eine fotografische Reise nach Tirol angetreten hat, scheint er sich gleichsam die Heimat wieder „einzutreiben“.

Unter seinem Blick wird uns das Nahe fremd und das Vertraute fern, was real erscheint unwirklich und was irreal anmutet verwandelt sich in Wirklichkeit. Er stellt uns „seine Tiroler Welt“ in ihrer für ihn absurden Beschaffenheit vor, faszinierende Bilder eines umfassenden leitnerschen Theatrum Mundi. Da ist das Bild einer verblichenen, schäbig gewordenen Grenzmarkierung der einst mythologisch aufgeladenen und (aktuell erneut) politisch brisanten Brennergrenze, da sind absurde, das Land durchziehende Zäune, die das Private von einer als gefährlich wahrgenommenen und fremd gewordenen Welt abschotten; da sind Leitners Blicke aus Hotelräumen auf eine Landschaft, die ihr eigenes Klischee zu übertreffen scheint; da sind vor sich hin rostende US-Straßenschlitten, die vom Ende des amerikanischen Traums künden – alles Spiegelbilder seiner obsessiven und surrealen Weltsicht, visuelle Skizzen, Fragmente, Imaginationen aus dem Reise- tagebuch eines besessenen Bildermachers, mit denen er den Verwandlungen der Welt und seiner selbst auf der Spur ist. Besser kann man die Ironie und den Wahnsinn des Alltags nicht darstellen.

Wenn er zwei Muslime, eine Frau mit Kopftuch und einen Mann mit Kinderwagen, vor der Kirche in Telfs präsentiert, wirkt das wie eine Paraphrase bekannter Tirolmotive von Alfons Walde. Auf den ersten Blick wähnen wir uns in einem bosnischen Dorf. In einer Frühstückspension in Galtür interessiert er sich für einen auf dem Tisch stehenden Zuckerstreuer. Hier werden Bezüge Leitners zu amerikanischen Fotografen wie William Eggleston oder Stephen Shore deutlich. Im Seefelder Hotel Berghof, einer Landmark alpiner Bauhausarchitektur, scheint der Blick des Reisenden auf dem edlen Interieur zu ruhen, bevor er sich nochmals durch das Panoramafenster der Welt draußen zuwendet, kein Blick zurück im Zorn, vielmehr voller Empathie. Die Tiroler Bilder fügen sich in ein Gesamtwerk von unglaublicher und ständig wachsender Vielfalt. So überbordend und unüberschaubar es auch inzwischen sein mag, von einer Fülle, der Leitner durch Systematisierungen, Gruppierungen und Themen vergeblich Herr zu werden sucht, so sehr ist seine Arbeit gleichwohl getragen von einer konsequenten künstlerischen Haltung, einer Arbeits- und Denkweise, die er selbst in mehreren Sätzen formuliert hat. Einige zentrale programmatische Bemerkungen Leitners seien hier zitiert und inter- pretiert. Voran ein Kernsatz Leitners zu seiner Lebens- und Arbeitsgeschwindigkeit, er lautet etwa: „Die beste Geschwindigkeit des Fotografen ist die Schrittgeschwindigkeit.“ Und Leitner ist der Flaneur unter den Fotografen, jede Hast ist ihm fremd, er lässt sich treiben, begibt sich auf die Suche nach Motiven. In Tirol legte er 671 Kilometer mit einem Leihwagen zurück, um vor Ort „Fotorundgänge“, wie er selbst sagt, zu machen. Leitner „ergeht“ sich seine Welt, stunden- und tagelang, wo immer er auch sein mag. Seine Arbeitsweise basiert auf Langsamkeit und Genauigkeit. Er nimmt sich Zeit, ist einer, der dem Zufall auf der Spur ist. In einem Interview zitierte er einmal Hartmut Böhme: „Der Flaneur sucht nicht den schnellsten Weg von hier nach dort, sondern bevorzugt die Odysseen des Zufalls.“2)Hartmut Böhme, „Schildkröten spazieren führen“, in: Neue Zürcher Zeitung, 19. Mai 2007, online: http://www.nzz.ch/articleF2LNV-1.361104. Dass ihm dabei kommerzielle Einschränkungen beziehungsweise Aufträge, Zwecke und Zeitrahmen völlig fremd sind, versteht sich von selbst, ebenso wenig interessiert ihn die Schnelligkeit und Beliebigkeit der Digital- fotografie. Er glaubt an die Einmaligkeit eines Bildes, seine Welt ist bis heute analog. Er entscheidet vor und bei der Aufnahme, wählt seine Bilder beim Fotografieren sorgfältig aus, nicht danach. Entscheidend ist der richtige Moment, das richtige Motiv zur richtigen Zeit; und Leitner ist auf der Lauer bei seinen Exkursionen, sein Timing stimmt, denn ein weiterer Kernsatz Leitners lautet: „Nachher ist nicht wie vorher.“

Fotografieren bedeutet für Leitner „eine Einstellung machen“. Das heißt bei Leitner aber auch, eine Einstellung, eine Haltung haben. Leitner sagt ferner: „Alles bei mir ist eins“. Seine Welt ist ein schillerndes Kaleidoskop unterschiedlichster Eindrücke und Einfälle, er liebt Zitate, Objekte, Bilder in oft überraschenden, ironischen Zusammenhängen, er will sie vereinen, zu einem stimmigen, in sich geschlossenen Kosmos fügen; Kunst und Leben sind für Leitner eins, und wenn das Leben weitergeht, dann in seinen Bildern.

References   [ + ]

Gerald Matt, geboren 1958 in Hard, Vorarlberg, arbeitet als freier Kurator und Kulturmanager.