Michael Ponstingl

Christopher Mavrič’s photographic improvisations

Photographs can be seen as materialised traces, traces of an exploration the photographer has chosen to conduct with the desired object. During that process, socio-cultural, economic, technical and space-time circumstances inscribe themselves in the photograph, some more consciously so than others. But once a person steps in front of the camera lens, the process becomes significantly more complicated. That’s what drives Mavrič. As a photographer who creates his images on the streets, he is continually having to face the question of how he would like to engage with the depicted and how he then actually does engage. Unlike the studio setting, where the roles of portrayer and portrayed are firmly set out by the institution, the situation out on the street is largely undefined. So in order to steer the transition into an individual’s personal and private sphere, the photographer has to have special skills. A skilled handling of the camera (in this instance a twin-lens Rolleiflex, 6 × 6 cm), a clear aware- ness of the sensitivity of events, and a formulated ethics of image-making are all part of that process, as is an eminent ‘presentness’ for spontaneous interaction and a gift for compositional improvisation.

Mavrič does not go for the covert or aggressive objectifying shot. Photo piracy and the associated aesthetic of the spectacular or spectacularly staged snapshot are not his thing. He is dismayed by the idea of wresting a secret from someone, of unmasking that person or uncovering something rarely seen. Rather, he prefers to rely on an underlying consent with the person who might be portrayed. First and foremost, that means acknowledging that every person has a right to their own image. Understood on these terms, such a consent always includes the situation as a whole, not just the instant of exposure, which is why it does not necessarily require prior agreement. A multitude of signals – a brief exchange of words (at any point), minimal gestures, telling glances – is enough to seal the photographic covenant. If and when such an interplay succeeds, it produces a consensual portrait as a reified reflection of social relations, with the resolutely cautious attitude all the more palpable.

The work-in-progress entitled Zwischen Brücken [Between Bridges] that is presented here in extract form is one which Mavrič himself has lived out in his immediate sur- roundings in Brigittenau, Vienna’s 20th municipal district, since 2015. The title references the historical locality of Zwischenbrücken and alludes to the fact that the district of Brigittenau is part of an island surrounded by the arms of the Danube. Christopher Mavrič does not follow any overarching imaging programme that might categorise people according to gender, class, ethnic background or otherwise; instead, he searches for the photographic situation with people. He is instinctively keen to see what fascinates him, attracts him, and constantly challenges him about the unassailably self-evident presence of the person opposite.

Michael Ponstingl, cultural scientist with an emphasis on photographic cultures. Works at the Photoinstitut Bonartes Vienna.

Michael Ponstingl

Christopher Mavrič’ fotografische Improvisationen

Fotografien lassen sich als materialisierte Spuren begreifen, Spuren einer Auseinander- Setzung, welche die Fotografin, der Fotograf mit dem begehrten Objekt geführt hat. Dabei schreiben sich raum-zeitliche, soziokulturelle, ökonomische und technische Verhältnisse – manche mehr, andere weniger bewusst – in das Lichtbild hinein. Gerät ein Mensch vor das Kameraauge, kompliziert sich der Prozess um ein Beträchtliches. Das treibt Mavrič um. Als einem Fotografen, der auf den Straßen seine Bilder entwirft, drängt sich ihm unablässig die Frage auf, in welche Verbindung er zu den Abgelichteten treten möchte und tatsächlich tritt. Anders als im Studio, wo die Institution die Rollen, Porträtist und Porträtierte, vorzeichnet, ist die Situation auf der Straße weitgehend undefiniert. Um hier den Übertritt ins Persönlich-Private eines Menschen zu bewältigen, muss der Fotograf spezielle Fertigkeiten mitbringen. Eine versierte Handhabung des Apparats (hier einer zweiäugigen Rolleiflex, 6 × 6 cm), ein klares Bewusstsein von der Sensibilität des Geschehens und eine ausformulierte Ethik des Bildermachens gehören gleichermaßen dazu wie eminente Gegenwärtigkeit für spontanes Interagieren und die Gabe der kompositorischen Improvisation.

Mavrič geht weder auf den ganz und gar geheimen noch aggressiv-objektifizierenden Schuss. Fotofreibeuterei und die damit einhergehende Ästhetik des spektakulär- spektakelhaften Schnappschusses sind seine Sache nicht. Vorstellungen, jemandem
ein Geheimnis zu entreißen, diesen zu demaskieren oder etwas Selten-Sichtbares zu entbergen, befremden ihn. Konträr dazu setzt er auf ein untergründiges Einverständnis mit den potenziell zu Porträtierenden. Zuallererst heißt das, anzuerkennen, dass einem jeden Menschen das Anrecht auf sein eigenes Bild zukommt. Dieses so begriffene Einverständnis umschließt immer die Gesamtsituation und nicht allein den Belichtungs- akt, weshalb es nicht zwingend eine vorgängige Absprache benötigt. Eine Vielzahl an Zeichen – kurze Wortwechsel (wann auch immer), minimale Gesten, beredte Blicke – kann den Fotopakt autorisieren. Klappt das Zusammen-Spiel, zeitigt das als einen ding- haften Niederschlag der sozialen Beziehungen ein einverständliches Porträt, dem man die dezidiert-behutsame Haltung nachfühlen kann.

Sein hier auszugsweise präsentiertes Work-in-Progress Zwischen Brücken lebt Mavrič in seinem unmittelbaren Lebensraum seit 2015, der Brigittenau, dem 20. Wiener Gemeindebezirk. Der Titel spielt auf die historische Ortschaft Zwischenbrücken ebenda an und verweist darauf, dass die Brigittenau Teil einer Insel, umgeben von Donauarmen, ist. Christopher Mavrič folgt keinem übergeordneten Abbildungsprogramm, das Menschen nach Geschlecht, Klasse, Ethnie oder sonst wie kategorisiert, sondern er sucht die fotografische Situation mit Menschen. Instinktiv will er sehen, was ihn an der uneinholbar selbst-verständlichen Präsenz des Gegenübers fasziniert, anzieht und stets aufs Neue fordert

Michael Ponstingl ist Kulturwissenschaftler mit Schwerpunkt auf fotografischen Kulturen und arbeitet am Photoinstitut Bonartes, Wien.