Ruth Horak

Andrew Phelps – Over Land

If you had to pick a keyword for the societal phenomenon that Andrew Phelps has been observing for some years now, one of the terms would certainly be ‘outdoor experience sports’. This highly resourceful and therefore booming leisure industry covers all the traditional outdoor sports such as swimming and boating, skiing and surfing, but also more elaborate extreme sports such as climbing, paragliding and bungee jumping, all of which combine the outdoor experience with full-on action.

Phelps grew up in Arizona in the 1970s and 1980s, and for him life outdoors, trekking and camping out in the wilderness or rafting down the Grand Canyon was not associated in any way with this sort of leisure tourism. So, for him, the artificiality of these calculated activities, some of which are now packaged into action camps like Area 47, is all the more striking, activities where sport and the great outdoors are ‘packaged as experience tourism’, as field trips and tours graded according to age and ability, with the appropriate balance of genuine thrills and safety.

The promise of tapping into the many different opportunities that outdoor activities have to offer contrasts sharply with the countless apparatus and devices, the equip- ment and safety measures, the overnight stopovers and food supply stations that are needed to ramble through nature as conveniently and cosily as possible in search of the ultimate adrenalin rush. These outdoor adventure sports are typically characterised by action cams, with brand names like Adventure and Hero, which in recent years have captured in images all these sports where no-one has a hand free. In keeping with the trend towards selfies and the ‘I did it’ culture, they represent fun, action and courage, but also photographs taken from the immediate vantage point of the person involved.

By contrast Phelps’s photographs are neither wide-angled action-cam shots with the action-packed photographer constantly in the picture nor breathtaking sports reporter photos; instead, they maintain a critical distance from this type of leisure activity. Phelps pursues them with a cultural interest. How does this societal phenomenon manifest itself and where is it headed? Created between Vorarlberg and Vienna in 2016, wide open landscape often frame details of this exploration (of nature). “The logotype Hoamat [homeland] high above Kitzbühel suggests a familiarity with nature, but sporting achievements such as those of the surfer on the Almkanal are not featured as decisive moments of peak performances, but in the form of ‘ordinary’ moments that ultimately make up most of the events.” The sense you get when viewing these photographs is one of ambivalence; it characterises the photographs of prepared pistes set against the backdrop of pristine mountain ranges or the mountain panorama at Stuben, leaving it up to the viewer to decide whether what they see in those images are the romantic ski resort or the light pollution and its negative impact on nature itself.

In Nature de luxe, in 2004, Phelps already addressed the issue of the authenticity of the outdoor experience when he explored the culture of camping in the Alps, yet another form of organised and prefabricated outdoor experience. Then and now, he looks at how people use nature, how they tame it and exploit it, and the extent to which photography can do justice to nature and the experience itself.

Ruth Horak, born 1972 in Graz, is an art critic and curator. Lives and works in Vienna.

Ruth Horak

Andrew Phelps – Über Land

Wollte man das Gesellschaftsphänomen, das Andrew Phelps seit Jahren beobachtet, verschlagworten, wäre einer der Begriffe sicher „Naturerlebnissportarten“. Diese erfindungsreiche und entsprechend florierende Freizeitindustrie umfasst traditionelle Arten des sportlichen Naturerlebnisses wie Baden und Bootfahren, Skifahren und Surfen, aber auch aufwendige Extremsportarten wie Klettern, Paragleiten oder Bungee-Jumping, die Natur mit Action zusammenspannen.

Für Phelps, der in den 1970er- und 80er-Jahren in Arizona aufgewachsen ist, stand das Leben in der Natur, das Wandern und Nächtigen in der Wildnis oder Rafting im Grand Canyon noch in keinem Zusammenhang mit einem so gearteten Freizeittourismus. Entsprechend fällt ihm die Künstlichkeit solch kalkulierter und mittlerweile in Action- camps wie dem Area 47 gebündelter Aktivitäten auf, in welchen Sport und Natur als „Erlebnistourismus im Package“, in nach Alter und Können gestaffelten Touren und in angemessener Balance von Nervenkitzel und Sicherheit angeboten werden.

Dem Versprechen, sich die vielfältigen Möglichkeiten der Fortbewegung in der Natur zu erschließen, stehen die unzähligen Instrumente und Geräte gegenüber, die Aus- rüstungen und Sicherheitsmaßnahmen, Nächtigungs- und Verpflegungsstationen, die es braucht, um sich auf der Suche nach dem ultimativen Kick möglichst komfortabel durch die Natur zu bewegen. Symptomatisch für diese Naturerlebnissportarten sind die Action-Cams, die sich Adventure oder Hero nennen und die diese Sportarten, bei denen man keine Hand frei hat, in den letzten Jahren auch bildmäßig erschlossen haben. Im Sinne des Selfies und des „I did it“ stehen sie für Spaß, Action und Mut und für Aufnahmen aus der unmittelbaren Sicht der Akteurin oder des Akteurs.

Phelps Aufnahmen hingegen sind weder weitwinkelige Action-Cam-Shots, die den Sportler-Fotografen immer mit im Bild haben, noch atemberaubende Sportreporter- fotos, sondern nehmen eine kritische Distanz zu dieser Art der Freizeitgestaltung ein. Phelps verfolgt sie mit einem kulturellen Interesse: Wie manifestiert sich dieses Gesell- schaftsphänomen und wohin geht die Entwicklung? 2016 zwischen Vorarlberg und Wien entstanden, rahmen weite Landschaften oft Details der (Natur-)Erschließung. Der Schriftzug „Hoamat“ hoch über Kitzbühel suggeriert Vertrautheit mit der Natur, aber die sportlichen Leistungen, wie jene des Surfers am Almkanal, kommen nicht als Decisive Moments von Höchstleitungen ins Bild, sondern in Form von „normalen“ Momenten, die schließlich einen überwiegenden Teil der Ereignisse ausmachen. Ein Gefühl, das sich beim Betrachten dieser Bilder einstellt, ist der Zwiespalt, er kennzeichnet auch die Aufnahmen der präparierten Pisten vor dem unberührten Gebirge oder des Bergpanoramas bei Stuben, die es den Betrachterinnen und Betrachtern überlassen, ob sie darin den romantischen Skiort oder die Lichtverschmutzung und deren negative Folgen für die Natur erkennen.

Die Frage nach der Authentizität von Naturerlebnis hat Phelps schon 2004 in Nature de luxe gestellt, als er sich mit der Campingkultur im alpinen Raum, einer anderen Form des organisierten und vorgefertigten Naturerlebnisses, beschäftigte. Damals wie heute ist sein Blick darauf gerichtet, wie die Menschen die Natur gebrauchen, sie zähmen und sich erschließen, und inwieweit die Fotografie der Natur beziehungsweise dem Erlebten gerecht werden kann.

Ruth Horak, geboren 1972 in Graz, ist Kunstkritikerin und Kuratorin. Lebt und arbeitet in Wien.